Vegan Thai Curry with Homemade Seitan

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion (in strips)
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup thai red curry paste
  • 1 can coconut milk (full fat)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3/4 tablespoon agave syrup
  • juice of 1 lemon (you can use lime; I used lemon because that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 pound asparagus, cut into thirds
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup cashews
  • homemade seitan (you can use store bought, but seriously…this stuff is way easy to make. See below for instructions)

Instructions

  1. Select a nice heavy bottomed stock pot. Add coconut oil over medium heat.
  2. Add the onions to the coconut oil. Add salt and pepper and cook for a few minutes.
  3. Add garlic powder and red curry paste. Continue to cook for one minute.
  4. Add the can of coconut milk, soy sauce, agave, vegetable broth and lemon. Bring the whole concoction to a boil.
  5. Lower the heat to medium low. You want a simmer, not a boil. Add the asparagus and seitan. You want bite size pieces for each. A good rule of thumb is that each piece should be a little smaller than your pinky. Cook until the asparagus is tender. Then serve. You can serve with rice or whatever grain you prefer. But since I am trying to cut down on the grains (hence, no potatoes in this curry!), I ate mine as a sort of soup.

 

HOMEMADE SEITAN

I could spend a bunch of time typing out the seitan recipe, but I pretty much just copied it out from this site:

http://www.theppk.com/2009/11/homemade-seitan/

When I get a chance I will share a few tips for making the seitan come out thin (rather than thick, since I personally don’t like to handle large clumps of cooked seitan)

Leave a comment